best option for VPN torrenting

daan_SVK

hey there fellow unraid users,

I'm looking for the easiest way to achieve a setup where I could utilize my VPN (Private Internet Access) with a torrent client. Is there a plugin that would accommodate this or do I need to go with a VM with a full blown OS and then just set up VPN there to do this? Sounds like an overkill to have a full VM to do just that.

thanks for the insight!

I have plenty of horsepower and RAM on my unRAID so I found it to be simplest just to make a windows VM.  It has sonarr, couchpotato, torrent and a constantly running VPN.  Works great.  I like the idea of a docker, but it seemed like it could be complex and I'm not experienced enough with dockers/linux to know if it was working as I wanted it to.

I have plenty of horsepower and RAM on my unRAID so I found it to be simplest just to make a windows VM.  It has sonarr, couchpotato, torrent and a constantly running VPN.  Works great.  I like the idea of a docker, but it seemed like it could be complex and I'm not experienced enough with dockers/linux to know if it was working as I wanted it to.

Fair enough if it works for you, but docker isn't that complicated once you "get" it.  Worth investing a bit of time in as you can reproduce your containers much quicker if there is a problem than getting a VM up and going with everything installed.

Dockers every time.  It is as simple as finding it and installing it (depending on your net speed a 10 minute process)

then mapping config to /mnt/cache/appdata/deluge in the gui and

then mapping data to /mnt/cache/downloads

You can then either manually grab it and move it or use another docker to - for TV shows as an example you could use binhex sonarr

for this map

config to /mnt/cache/appdata/Sonarr

data to /mnt/cache/downloads/

media to /mnt/user/TV Shows/

With those 2 - Sonarr would identify yoru tv episodes tell deluge vpn to download it - then when it has downloaded move it to your TVshows share.