MOBO + CPU for 10+ out of network stream via Plex suggestions?

GFOviedo

My current set up:

MOBO: ASRock - Z77M

CPU: Intel® Core™ i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz

Memory: 8GB RAM

Lately, more and more of my family members and a few friends, have been requesting access to my server to watch my movies via Plex.  I never thought I would need to upgrade my server, but it appears I might need a faster CPU since Plex transcoding is CPU intensive.

At the moment, I can stream up to 4 devices without issues (depending one the movie) out of network.  However, this might be changing since most of my family are starting to get Smart TV's, Rokus or Fire TV's.

So, I was wondering if anyone is able to stream out of network to 10 or more devices at once?  What kind of set up are you using?  What suggestions does anyone have?

Note:  About 98% of my movies are BD quality with HD sound tracks!

I think you are going to need one hell of a CPU for that.

I'm pretty new to Plex but as far as I know, out of network transcodes will take even more horsepower, right? Because it will have to compress the files more to get smooth playback at lets say 25Mbit internet speeds (on the high end)? 5 minutes of quick searching shows that BD can transfer up to around 50Mbit/sec, which means over Ethernet you would not be limited by network transfer rate, but out of network you likely will be.

You mention HD soundtracks, those alone can be up to 18Mbit/sec for Dolby True HD or 24Mbit/sec for DTS Master

I also just realized another limiting factor UPLOAD SPEED!

Yep.  Remove the CPU bottleneck and unless you have one hell of an internet plan you are going to hit your upload bandwidth limit before you hit 10 streams.  I've got a decent plan through Comcast and Speedtest gives me 177Mbps down, but only 12Mbps up.

I also just realized another limiting factor UPLOAD SPEED!