Server randomly locks up

Treytor

Hey all,

Linux newbie here, apologies in advance for my ignorance.

I've been having trouble recently with my server (unraid 6.1.8 ). I wish I could identify exactly when this started, but I can't. It seems to happen randomly or when I'm doing a lot of file transfers. But I can't pinpoint specifically what might cause it to happen. It has happened while actively copying something, during a move procedure from the cache disk, or in the middle of the night without anything going on (that I know of).

I only have a plex docker running on it, and nothing else. The strange thing is the plex docker still runs, as long as I don't actually try to play anything.

I lose access to shares (windows), and the web GUI becomes unresponsive. I'm unable to gracefully shutdown the server via telnet as well. Disks 3 and 6 report as being busy when I try to unmount them.

Running "fuser -mv /mnt/disk* /mnt/user/*" locks up and doesn't report anything.

Running "top" reports 100% cpu activity with the "shfs" command.

I tried running a reiserfsck on disks 3 and 6. One reported no problems, another had two minor errors that were resolved, but didn't seem to help.

If I try to run "diagnostics" from telnet it get stuck and never completes and I have to do a hard reset, which I did just now. Here is the diagnostics information after it reboots and comes back online. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance!

cooper-diagnostics-20160305-1017.zip

It just happened again after being up for a couple days. It was while I was copying a lot of data off the server (over 1tb).

Same thing, everything unresponsive, but still able to telnet in. First thing I tried is a 'diagnostics' this time, and it's stuck "Starting diagnostics collection"

I'm able to log in with another telnet session and re-confirm all my findings in my original post. Unable to unmount disks 3 and 6.

I ran a memtest earlier today and no errors came up.

My setup is pretty standard:

Supermicro X8SIL-F-O