New Happy Unraid User but...

jonathansayeb

Hello dear Unraid community, first of all a big thank you to lime technology for this great piece of OS.

Here is a quick introduction:

I'm a photographer and videographer based in Vietnam and after 2 years of being in business and collecting 11tb of photos and video footages I thought that it was time to get rid of my super expensive dropbox advanced subscription and my usb 3 dock of hard drives and go for a proper server setup. Here come my first build for Unraid:

Motherboard: Intel Server Board S1200sp

CPU: Intel Xeon CPU E3-1220 v5 @ 3.00GHz

Ram: 2x 8gb Kingston ECC = 16gb ECC

Router: D-Link Dir-880L

Ethernet cables: Cat 5

Drives:

• Parity: WD Red 6tb (soon to be replaced with Hgst 8tb as soon as preclear is done)
  • Data: 2 x WD Red 6tb, 2 x WD Blue 2tb, 1 x WD Purple 1tb
  • Cache: 1 x OCZ vertex 3 256Gb (Installed in the build but not connected yet since I ran out of SATA slots, motherboard has only 6) Please give me your opinion on the best way to extend

Dockers Used so far:

• Krusader (for file management)
  • Crashplan (Files backup)
  • Deluge VPN (I don't use it much)
  • PlexMediaServer
  • Digikam (photo Management, just installed it and trying to figure it out)

Dockers to be used soon: Your opinion is most welcome

• Owncloud ( To replace my dropbox 600usd/year subscription)
  • OpenVPN (for remote access to the server)

So far i'm pretty happy with the overall system and its flexibility (Disk Swaps/Upgrades if need be) but after 1 week working 16 hours/day transfering/organizing files from my main workstation (Imac 5K 2015) I'm facing issues that i really hope can be solved:

• Lightroom catalog stored on my Imac takes ages to import files from the Unraid server, i'm not even talking about creating the 1:1 Previews and the Smart Previews. (It's been going on for 2 days already. The catalog has >28000 images)
  • Final Cut Pro crashes whenever I try to import footages from the server.