[SOLVED] Can't get v6.4 or 6.35 to Boot

TheWooginator

Hey guys. I'm totally new to this, but I've been doing as much reading as I possibly can prior to posting in case I missed something simple. I can't get past the black screen with the cursor when trying to boot form the USB.

Hardware:

Asus sabertooth x79 mobo w/ 3930k v1 chip running 4701 bios version (it's the latest non-beta version according to the asus website)

kingston traveler se9 16gb flash drive, formatted fat32 with MBR

I've tried all sorts of options on the bios including turning secure boot on/off, UEFI and legacy booting, disabled all other bootables, basically everything the troubleshooting guides recommend and it still just won't load. Am I missing something here?

I'm using a mac running OS X to create the USB and I've tried it using the usb creator program as well as just doing it the legacy way where you copy the files and run the "make bootable" file.

Please help! I didn't think it would be this tough to get it up and running!!

EDIT:

So I was able to get things working by:

1. Going back to the base bios settings and running my XMP profile that came with my DDR3 mem sticks so I can actually run them at 1833mhz,

2. left secure boot ON

3. made sure the UEFI Kingston had boot priority

4. Disabled all other bootables except bootable CD override

5. I found out that my CPU fans from noctua run at a lower RPM than the "alarm" state for the bios which threw it into an error that isn't really an error. I set the bios to NOT require me to press F1 to enter setup to "fix" this "error" and it allowed the OS to boot straight through from a cold start with no help from me.

SUCCESS!

Did you set your BIOS up to specify that you wanted it to boot from the USB drive?  (You might think this is a stupid question but with all your detail that item is not listed as having been done.)