Parity device disabled

griffon

I've been running unraid for a few months on a test rig, and I recently decided to move the data, then the bigger drive I had on my previous hardware NAS to the test rig.

The drive is a 4Tb WD Red, and it always worked flawlessly on the previous raid. I've decided to use it as parity drive (the other drives on the test rig are 1Tb drives), with the intention to slowly upgrade the rest of drives to all 4Tb Reds with time.

I don't turn on the test nas all the time, so I was quite surprised when I turned it on a couple days ago and noticed that the parity drive is disabled. I tried to parity check, remove it from raid, restart raid, stop raid and re-add the parity to rebuild it, but no avail. Have any idea of what I should try next? I'm including the logs.

griffonnas-diagnostics-20180401-0855.zip

griffonnas-diagnostics-20180331-2311.zip

I tried changing the sata cable, just in case. The drive appears to be powered on, and the power cable was powering the previous parity drive, so I'm pretty sure it works. Should I do any special test with that drive, like taking it out and run some kind of diagnostics?

1 minute ago, griffon said:

The drive figures as connected in the web interface... But still, as requested, new diags attached.

Now it is, it wasn't on the previous diags, hence the need for new ones, SMART looks fine, if you already replaced the cable resync parity.

14 hours ago, griffon said:

Alright, started the rebuilding process. Will update as soon it's finished. Thanks for now!

17 minutes ago, griffon said:

Running parity check returned 0 errors, but the disk is still marked as disabled. Should I "stop raid, remove parity disk, restart raid, stop it again, re-add, restart raid" now?

So this is a little unclear. Did you rebuild parity, then run a parity check? Or are you confused about the difference between rebuilding parity and checking parity?