Parity check running at <10MB/s with 228 million errors...

-Daedalus

So I'm new to unRAID, running the following non-final setup:

1TB cache drive

8, 8, 4TB data drives

They're just a cobbling together of random drives before I move my existing data across. As such, it's only dummy data that's on them at the moment, so I don't care what happens to them.

I got the drives set up and parity built/checked all fine. I pulled a drive an reinstalled it, and the parity build went fine as well.

I wanted to experiment with a cache pool - as that's what I plan to run when I move my main data over - so I planned to move the 4TB drive out of the main array and add it to the cache drive. So I did the following:

I'm a little hazy on exactly what I did, but I ended up creating a new config, and assigning the drives as appropriate. I'm sure the correct drives were assigned to the main array (I took note of the serial number of the parity one, and the others are obviously easily identifiable by their size). So now I have:

1+4TB cache pool

8, 8TB data drives

A rebuild started however, and was going extremely slowly. Currently, it's at 8.9MB/s, estimating over 9 days until completion. The previous array rebuild took just under 20 hours. It's also currently at just over 228 million errors.

Anyone any idea what's going on here? I'm probably going to end up wiping it and starting over, (as I'm not waiting for a week for it to finish with data I don't care about) but I'd like to know what's going on so I don't get into this situation in the future.

Thanks all! Syslog attached.

server-diagnostics-20160612-1902.zip

Did you tell it to trust parity when you did the new config? If so that is what your problem is.

It seems like you are doing a correcting parity check instead of an initial parity sync. Since you removed the 4TB from the array you needed to do a parity sync to rebuild parity, not a parity check, because parity was no longer valid for the changed drive configuration.