Device disabled

steve1977

I'm no expert in reading this things, but it seems there is more into it than just one disk!?

Any loose cabling?

There seems to be an WD 500GB (sdb) drive that is throwing I/O errors frequently.

Starts right after the boot sequence.

Next is disk 2 with I/O errors.

disk2: [8,160] (sdk) WDC_WD60EZRX-00MVLB1_WD-WX11D741AYXK

Jun 14 03:34:40 Tower kernel: md: disk2 write error, sector=6099439824
Jun 14 03:34:40 Tower kernel: md: disk2 read error, sector=6099444688

A few days later, disk 14 is joining the party.

Jun 17 16:40:59 Tower kernel: md: disk14 read error, sector=11312

Then there is the super.dat in your log with size of 0  ???

SMART for both those drives looks OK. Are they on the same controller?

Not sure what to make of super.dat but there is this late in the log

Jun 14 03:34:40 Tower kernel: md: could not write superblock from /boot/config/super.dat

Earlier in the log it is read fine. I would make a screenshot of your drive assignments just in case.

Thanks for your quick replies.

The 500GB disk is no longer attached. I never got it to work, but believe this is driven by a separate issue (USB port).

In the GUI, only one disk shows errors (disk 2).

Can you eleborate on the super.dat file and what it is related it?

Are you suggesting to rebuild the array or to replace disk 2 and restore to it?

In general, this is quite annoying if this is yet again related to cabling. I have done about everything I can since starting to use Unraid 18 months ago. I bought a new sata controller and also a few onths ago changed all cabling by an IT professional (which cost a fortune). After I did the latter, it indeed worked the first time for a few months, which is great! But now, the same issue comes up with one drive being disabled (without the drive being broken). Any other ideas what I can do?