unable to find server on network [SOLVED]

good morning, ok im a total beginner at this networking server stuff.

i have searched just about everything on here trying to find an answer.

i am physically unable to find any trace of the serve on my network using win 10. i however can access it using its physical allocated network i.p. 

so any ideas on what im managing to get wrong ?

any help would be appreciated as at the moment im feeling like the thing will be junked off into the bin as its driving me so insane. 

thanks all

Edited by fluffybutt
1 hour ago, fluffybutt said:

i am physically unable to find any trace of the serve on my network using win 10. i however can access it using its physical allocated network i.p. 

Do you mean you can't access your server by name but you can access it by IP?

Did you read this topic pinned near the top of this same subforum?

https://lime-technology.com/forums/topic/53172-windows-issues-with-unraid/

3 hours ago, fluffybutt said:

good morning, ok im a total beginner at this networking server stuff.

so any ideas on what im managing to get wrong ?

any help would be appreciated as at the moment im feeling like the thing will be junked off into the bin as its driving me so insane. 

thanks all

The problem is that the latest releases of Windows 10 have broken name resolution for SMB shares.   There are various workarounds for this, but the easiest is to simply use the IP address.    You can also add an entry to the ‘hosts’ file on the Win10 machine to be able to get the name resolved to the correct IP address.

Another option is to click on the server part in the Explorer address bar and drag it to the desktop.    This will create a shortcut that can be used to bring up the full list of shares.

Edited by itimpi

thanks for the replies,

yes i have set the master as the thread said, even have dynamix local master installed .