Central unRAID drive quality db?

cyrnel

This has probably crossed someone else's mind already but thought I'd put it out there...

How about an unRAID-wide drive health monitoring tool? Something that would collect information for all or a sampling of drives used with unRAID. Their configuration, health, hours, etc, all sent to a central unRAID database. It'd need some level of security to prevent "optimizing" and  an opt-out option, but it could provide more relevant data for our needs than tiny samples and the aging google study. Certainly better than emotion, which is such a difficult influence to avoid. It's been 30-some years since I bought my first 5MB HD ($2500 - gah) but I still find myself swayed horribly by the most recent few drives I've purchased.

I love the idea, but I'm not sure how valid the data will be as a predictor. I have been building and servicing PCs for a living for 17 years, and from what I've seen over the years, physical environment and treatment is much more important to disk longevity than purely make and model. Granted, there have been MANY examples of specific production runs (and companies) that were almost all stinkers, but those same companies have produced some very reliable drives as well. It's almost impossible to tell you have a stinker on your hands until it's much too late to quit buying it. (Seagate 40MB RLL drives excluded. 50% out of box failure rate was a dead giveaway)

A database would be interesting from a historical perspective, but I don't think it would have any value at all as a predictor of future performance.