Cache Drive not faster

Witty321

I'm totally new to unRaid. I just built my server and installed a Samsung Evo850 250GB SSD as the cache drive and set shares to use the cache. I have a 3TB WD Red data disk and a 5TB Seagate as the Parity disk. I've started populating my server and am getting write speeds of 110MB/s without the cache and the same with. I thought the cache drive would make the writes much faster as it doesn't need to calculate parity until it runs the mover which is set to run every night at 4am. Am I doing something wrong or is 110MB/s the fastest i can get?

32 minutes ago, Witty321 said:

Am I doing something wrong or is 110MB/s the fastest i can get?

If you're copying files over the network and are on a 1Gbps network, then yes that is the fastest you'll get

With the massive speed increases in how unRaid can directly write to the array with faster drives, controllers, etc many people don't even bother using the cache drive for shares, and limit it to a so-called "Application" drive (ie: docker.img, appdata, downloads shares, etc)

But, either way you are always limited by your network speed when transferring files to unRaid over the network.

Just now, trurl said:

Do you have turbo write on? The speed you say you are getting without cache is faster than expected.

I have never tried an unRAID with only one data disk but remember that with just a single data disk the parity can be written directly without reading back any old content. So turbo write or not shouldn't matter.

8 minutes ago, pwm said:

I have never tried an unRAID with only one data disk but remember that with just a single data disk the parity can be written directly without reading back any old content. So turbo write or not shouldn't matter.

Yes, that makes sense. Parity is just a mirror of the single disk in that scenario.