X8SIL-F, IPMI question

I'm just getting started with my new UnRAID install, using the above MoBo. I am currently connected to the network via 1 of the "normal" ethernet connections, as I don't really know what I'm doing with IPMI. If I decide to connect to the IPMI ethernet jack, will this now cause any problems? It seems like having the IPMI connection is preferred so I want to have the option of using it when I figure it out. Thanks.

I'm just getting started with my new UnRAID install, using the above MoBo. I am currently connected to the network via 1 of the "normal" ethernet connections, as I don't really know what I'm doing with IPMI. If I decide to connect to the IPMI ethernet jack, will this now cause any problems? It seems like having the IPMI connection is preferred so I want to have the option of using it when I figure it out. Thanks.

Does your board have the dedicated IPMI jack?  If so you can connect a cable to each ethernet port (the IPMI one and the eth0 one) and not cause any problems.

Even with that being said, you do not need to use the dedicated port on the board.  If the board can not establish a connection on the dedicated port it will go over the same ethernet port you are using.  IPMI has its own separate IP address that you will have to figure out (look in your router for it) or use something like IPMIView 2.0 to connect to the IPMI that is running on your motherboard.

IPMI is a dedicated link, with its own IP address to the host and offers access to its embedded functions only.

That means, the operating system will not "see" that link/connection.

You cannot use it for any service offered by software (i.e. unRAID) running on that box.

The other way however is possible. You can, for example, mount an external ISO via IPMI that

will then appear as a removable (usb-cdrom-)device attached to your board and it will be visible

inside your OS (if usb-drivers exist).