First time setup - cannot install screen

JMO

Hi,

I have been going through the process of setting up my first unraid server and I have hit an early road block.

I am trying to preclear my parity drive and cannot get past the point in the wiki: http://lime-technology.com/wiki/index.php/Configuration_Tutorial#Install_Screen

Where the wiki decsribes, "Step 3 At the top of the screen select Pkg Manager." I have no such option (Version: 6.0 beta9).

I click "Extensions" and get the option to install an extension via url. However, for life of me, I cannot find a URL that will facilitate the installation of Screen.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

I am happy to follow instructions, but please keep in mind i am very new to the world of telnet, linux, unraid, etc...

Thanks for your time.

System Information

UnRAID Version: 6.0 beta9.

UnRAID License: unRAID Server Pro

Motherboard: ASRock - E3C226D2I

CPU: Intel® Xeon® CPU E3-1241 v3 @ 3.50GHz

Speed: 3.5 GHz

Cache: 256 kB, 1024 kB, 8192 kB

Memory: 8192 MB (max. 16 GB)

Network: eth0: 1000Mb/s - Full Duplex

Kernel: Linux 3.16.2-unRAID x86_64

OpenSSL: 1.0.1i

An alternative way to install screen without using unMenu is to get the 'utempter' (utempter-1.1.5-x86_64-1.txz) and 'screen' (screen-4.0.3-x86_64-4.txz) packages from here.  Make sure you get the versions for 64-bit slackware.  These should then be put on the flash drive so they are available for install.

The pacakages can either be installed manually by running a command of the form:

installpkg package_filename

or by putting them into the folder 'extra' on the flash drive (creating the folder if it does not exist) and rebooting the system.  The latter approach will cause them to be reloaded each time the system is booted.

An alternative way to install screen without using unMenu is

That's awesome. Thank you. I will check it out tomorrow.