[Solved][Bug] WebGUI Crash | Useradd with complex password

Marcel40625

Hey, im new to unRAID and wanna test it before i buy and running in an issue.

After installing the unRAID 6.3.5 on the USB Stick and making it bootable i put it into my homeserver, after boot everthing seems to work fine. (watched nearly everything first in the WebGUI)

okay after defining an array and creating a share i realized that i need another user for the smb share, so i tried to create one, but after pressing "ADD USER" after i put the credentials i want for it, nothing. WebGUI offline, only way to bring back the WebGUI seems a reboot. ;(

in the syslog i found:

Dec 21 21:07:25 Homeserver emhttp: userPasswordConf not found
Dec 21 21:07:25 Homeserver kernel: emhttp[1653]: segfault at 0 ip 00002b408a33713a sp 00007ffd431f6378 error 4 in libc-2.24.so[2b408a1e8000+1bd000]

tried 2 different USB drives because thinking one has a failure, but everytime the same and chkdsk on the drives prompt no errors.

hope someone has an idea. already order 3 different USB drives via Amazon Prime, maybe its realy dead drives but dont know.

EDIT:

okay i might found the reason ... the password from the user i added was to complex

93-|Z"P`\0^0zea#?F^X

seems to much for unraid ... a but stupid in my opinion ... a password with only digits and lowercase letter works fine ...

BUG REPORT:

5 hours ago, Marcel40625 said:

okay i might found the reason ... the password from the user i added was to complex

93-|Z"P`\0^0zea#?F^X

seems to much for unraid ... a but stupid in my opinion ... a password with only digits and lowercase letter works fine ...

Potential trouble characters I'd test with a known to work password are individual characters from |"`#? and then the combo of \0