Mount points within docker containers

So i'm here from FreeNAS because its a PITA to use, I'm finding unRAID easy, so i'm moving over to unRAID (slowly).

I'm new to Docker, and I wondered why docker template authors don't mount external ( unraid array) storage into the docker in the docker's /mnt/ folder?

In FreeNAS (jails), when adding storage, the path inside the container(jail) is always /mnt/<path>/.

But in unRAID, the docker container paths are just anywhere in the container, e.g. /data/, /media/ etc.

Having them all mount into /mnt/ makes the paths easier to find when selecting from within a docker application's gui, or on the console, as all storage in the docker will be in the docker's /mnt/ folder, so just need to look there...

Think about the SAB template, it mounts several paths in to the docker container.

(from memory)

/data/

/recyclebin/

/completed/

/incomplete/

... etc,

If they were all in /mnt/ in the docker, they'd be easier to find: 

/mnt/data/

/mnt/completed/

/mnt/incomplete/

/mnt/recyclebin/

..etc

Just wondered!

4 hours ago, jj_uk said:

If they were all in /mnt/ in the docker, they'd be easier to find: 

/mnt/data/

/mnt/completed/

/mnt/incomplete/

/mnt/recyclebin/

..etc

I think this would only compound the confusion users have about mapping, since on the Host these would be /mnt/user/data, etc.

One core security tenet is principle of least privilege.

As the dockers are made by a third person, or contain binaries made by 3rd parties, it make absolute sense not to give the container complete access to you entire array of data via the /mnt location. Even containers for backing up data (here I'd rather they have read-only access to everything they will be backing up).

Some docker images are made for general (non-unRAID) consumption, so the idea that everything is under /mnt is just not correct.