First Boot, 169 IP, stuck at 'tower login'

So I've been struggling with this for a few weeks now, I'm new to UnRaid so I'm probably missing something basic here.

So I have UnRaid on a flash drive, everything boots like it should and the box is directly connected to the router via ethernet cable, but the console is only displaying a 169.xxx.xx.xx IP address, and it is not showing as a device on my router.

I can't access the tower login when i use a browser on another machine and on the console it just shows "tower login:" but when I enter my username/password it shows as 'incorrect login' and back to 'tower login"' I think it's doing that because it's not actually able to reach the internet.

In either case I don't seem to be able to get past the 'tower login' process to access the console. Same thing if boot to the GUI as well.

I've used this same machine as a FreeNas system in the past and haven't had any issues with obtaining an IP address when that was used.

Are there any other steps that I might have missed? Most of the other posts I've seen related to this problem seem to indicate the need for a log but since I can't get through the login i'm not sure the next steps to take

13 minutes ago, WalnutBread said:

when I enter my username/password it shows as 'incorrect login' and back to 'tower login"

Have you ever been able to login? What user are you trying to login as? The console only allows user 'root' to login, and if you haven't set a password then it is blank.

14 minutes ago, WalnutBread said:

username/password

the only access to the server at the command prompt (or to the webUI) is via the user "root" and whatever password you set for it

Once you get in, from the command prompt

diagnostics

and then upload the resulting file here

3 hours ago, trurl said:

Have you ever been able to login? What user are you trying to login as? The console only allows user 'root' to login, and if you haven't set a password then it is blank.