UnRAID stopped booting with PCIe to SATA adapter inserted

KR1SeS

Hey guys, first post on the forums requesting support, please go easy on me. I've been using UnRAID for almost 3 years and I basically use it for photo storage and a Plex media server.

I have an FX-6300 on an ASUS board. I have 1 cache disk and 9 array disks (1 partiy). My board only has 6 SATA ports so I purchased this over a year ago:

IOCrest SI-PEX40064 4 Port SATA III PCIe 2.0 X 1 Controller Card Components ---- (Chipset: Marvell 88SE9215)

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B00AZ9T3OU/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I connected 4 disks to the PCIe to SATA controller and everything has been running smooth for over a year. A few weeks ago I received alerts from UnRaid that 4 of my disks had read errors. I thought it strange and determined that each of those disks was connected to the PCIe to SATA controller. After starting the server back up UnRAID detected that those 4 disks were missing. I disconnected the SATA controller and reconnected, booted up and all drives were present. I could start the array and everything was back to normal...until a few weeks later.

Now, a few days ago, my server hung. I couldn't reboot via webGUI or SSH with Putty. I had to hard power off. When I tried to power back up I would wait but wouldn't get the UnRaid started confirmation beeps I was used to hearing, and I couldn't access the webGUI. Here is a list of troubleshooting steps I took as I suspected a bad PCIe to SATA controller:

• Removed SATA controller from PCIe slot and UnRAID booted normal, of course 4 of my disks were missing
  • Tried controller in all available PCIe slots and when inserted into any UnRAID would not boot
  • Purchased a brand new IO Crest controller
  • Inserted into any PCIe slot but without a single SATA disk attached and UnRAID would boot
  • Attaching any number of SATA disks to that new controller and UnRAID would fail to boot and in any slot