Filesystem wiped (almost) clean ??!!

tourist

This week I installed Unraid onto a flash drive (on 30-day trial), and proceeded to configure and customize, to work with my drives and GPUs.

I was iterating on changes to Main->Flash->Syslinux to get two NVidia RTX 2080 SUPERs and a cheapie GeForce GT 710 working properly, in anticipation of passthru to VMs. This morning I rebooted 3-4 times to test the changes.

After one of the reboots, I ssh'd in and discovered that customizations I'd made and files downloaded under /root were just ... gone!

Likewise, files created under a new user's home directory were missing.

But, the changes I'd made to syslinux.cfg via the web gui were intact. Also intact were the array definition and CA plugins I'd installed.

I am fairly certain that this outcome isn't connected to the things I've touched so far. I'm a software and devops engineer, been admining Linux and Unix-like systems for more than 25 years now, so I'm aware of pitfalls, and watch carefully for potential consequences of my actions.

Is this a known issue, or an expected behavior? I've seen a few other posts with similar titles. Does Unraid go and nuke things it doesn't know about?

For the record, I had made a flash backup, about 48 hours ago. But, I would have expected to use it only in case of hardware catastrophe.

For this experimental outing with Unraid, I've allocated high-quality, high-speed equipment. The flash device is a brand-new Sandisk Extreme, 300 MB/sec, erased and tested overnight before installing Unraid on it.

Any and all insights appreciated.

This week I installed Unraid onto a USB flash drive (for 30-day trial), and proceeded to configure and customize it to work with my drives and GPUs.

I was iterating on changes to Main->Flash->Syslinux to get two NVidia RTX 2080 SUPERs and a cheapie GeForce GT 710 working properly, in anticipation of passthru to VMs. This morning I rebooted 3-4 times to test the changes.