Utilizing SSD as a smart read cache

jpeltoniemi

Hello all!

I recently discovered unRAID through Linus Tech Tips and am currently preparing my drives for it. 12TB of files is getting a bit too much for Greyhole.

From what I've read, unRAID doesn't utilize cache drives for accelerating often accessed files, which still is better to what I have now, that being no cache at all, but I was wondering if it could be even better.

I'm not too familiar with unRAID internals yet, but AFAIK, it uses Samba to serve files. Wouldn't it be possible to to monitor which files are requested, either by hooking in to Samba(https://www.samba.org/samba/docs/current/man-html/vfs_full_audit.8.html) or to kernel(https://linux-audit.com/monitor-file-access-by-linux-processes/) and pass all the file requests to a cache server to process.

Being a js developer, my first though was to run a Node.js instance with either Redis or MongoDB to store access to each file. The cache server would periodically check which files are accessed most often and copy them to cache, as well as remove less accessed files from the cache. The cache server could perhaps even be configured to look at currently accessed file names and pre-emptively cache potentially next-in-sequence files, or something like that. Ideally caching strategies could be pluggable. 

This kind of read cache would be great for application data(Steam libraries) and project files, which aren't always worth optimizing individually and can't all be stored on a stack of SSDs(unless you're made of cash). I'm sure there's something I'm missing, but if it isn't anything crucial and something like this is actually doable, my questions are as follows:

• Is there any plan to implement such functionality in unRAID natively / is there a timeline?
  • Despite finding no good answers on Google, does a plugin for this already exist?