Unassigned Devices - Managing Disk Drives and Remote Shares Outside of The Unraid Array


dlandon

Recommended Posts

3 minutes ago, dlandon said:

Give me the result of these commands:


/bin/ping -c 1 -W 1 DROBOSERVER

and


/usr/bin/nmblookup DROBOSERVER

and post the results.  Let me know if the commands take a long time to respond.

root@UnRaid:/usr/local/emhttp/plugins/unassigned.devices/include# /bin/ping -c 1 -W 1 DROBOSERVER
ping: unknown host DROBOSERVER

 

root@UnRaid:/usr/local/emhttp/plugins/unassigned.devices/include# /usr/bin/nmblookup DROBOSERVER
192.168.86.5 DROBOSERVER<00>
192.168.50.1 DROBOSERVER<00>

 

 

Well that doesn't seem right.  I know the 192.168.50.1 is the cable between the Drobo and the Network card that is only bound to the VM. the 192.168.86.5 is it's IP on my network, 192.168.86.4 is my UnRaid server.  Hope this helps, thanks!

Link to comment
25 minutes ago, fibreiv said:

root@UnRaid:/usr/local/emhttp/plugins/unassigned.devices/include# /bin/ping -c 1 -W 1 DROBOSERVER
ping: unknown host DROBOSERVER

 

root@UnRaid:/usr/local/emhttp/plugins/unassigned.devices/include# /usr/bin/nmblookup DROBOSERVER
192.168.86.5 DROBOSERVER<00>
192.168.50.1 DROBOSERVER<00>

 

 

Well that doesn't seem right.  I know the 192.168.50.1 is the cable between the Drobo and the Network card that is only bound to the VM. the 192.168.86.5 is it's IP on my network, 192.168.86.4 is my UnRaid server.  Hope this helps, thanks!

The problem is that there are two IP addresses assigned to the DROBOSERVER.  UD gets them both from the nmblookup and concatenates them together and a double IP address is created - "192.168.86.5 192.168.50.1".  This won't work when that is ping'd.

 

Not sure of the answer, but I will probably apply a fix so the first IP address is used and the second one ignored.  This might not work for you.  The solution is for you to reference the DROBOSERVER by IP and not name unless my proposed solution works for you.

Link to comment
14 minutes ago, dlandon said:

The problem is that there are two IP addresses assigned to the DROBOSERVER.  UD gets them both from the nmblookup and concatenates them together and a double IP address is created - "192.168.86.5 192.168.50.1".  This won't work when that is ping'd.

 

Not sure of the answer, but I will probably apply a fix so the first IP address is used and the second one ignored.  This might not work for you.  The solution is for you to reference the DROBOSERVER by IP and not name unless my proposed solution works for you.

I am pretty sure I tried to access the share via the ip and it didn’t work either but I will confirm. I would think if I used just the ip of the card that connects to my network it would only connect to the droboserver on that ip but I guess I could be wrong on that. Thanks

Link to comment
9 minutes ago, fibreiv said:

I am pretty sure I tried to access the share via the ip and it didn’t work either but I will confirm. I would think if I used just the ip of the card that connects to my network it would only connect to the droboserver on that ip but I guess I could be wrong on that. Thanks

Try this file and see if it solves the problem.

lib.zip

Link to comment
3 hours ago, fibreiv said:

root@UnRaid:/usr/local/emhttp/plugins/unassigned.devices/include# /bin/ping -c 1 -W 1 DROBOSERVER
ping: unknown host DROBOSERVER

 

root@UnRaid:/usr/local/emhttp/plugins/unassigned.devices/include# /usr/bin/nmblookup DROBOSERVER
192.168.86.5 DROBOSERVER<00>
192.168.50.1 DROBOSERVER<00>

 

 

Well that doesn't seem right.  I know the 192.168.50.1 is the cable between the Drobo and the Network card that is only bound to the VM. the 192.168.86.5 is it's IP on my network, 192.168.86.4 is my UnRaid server.  Hope this helps, thanks!

Try the new version.

Link to comment

1st off, thank you for the plugin it has been working wonderfully for me for quite a while. 

I'm running on an old HP Server and I had split my 2.5in SAS raid block as 2 separate partitions to be used as a cache and as an unassigned space to mount VMs

I have now upgraded to a larger SSD Cache and was just going to mount the previous cache as a second unassigned device. Unfortunately when I mount it I can no longer browse the 1st. It appears the issue is the SAS is identified by the same ID, so even though I have sdb and sdc when I change the mounting point for one it changes for the other. I tried two different FS just to see and that did not change anything. 

Is it possible to mount them separately?

     If not, if I copy the 147GB partition to my array, and then merge the two within the HP utility, and then remount and copy the files back would I run into any issues within my VMs (if I keep the naming convention)?

          Would you just suggest a cp -r /mnt/disks/HP_LOGICAL_VOLUME/* /mnt/cache/ from shell or another method to move it?

 

Thank you for any assistance or guidance you can provide. 

UnAssigned.PNG

Link to comment

I've recently started seeing an error message appear in my syslog whenever I refresh the Main page of the GUI (I use non-tabbed mode so the UD section gets refreshed every time I select Main):

Nov 20 04:12:45 Mandaue unassigned.devices: Error: Cannot get IP address for 'DROBO5N' from nmblookup.

It's telling the truth because the DROBO5N file server is currently powered down:

 

2037554565_ScreenShot2018-11-20at04_17_17.png.41df2a5147313906a3c009f693d241ae.png

 

The fact that it's unavailable is nicely indicated by the grey ball so the entry in the syslog is unnecessary. I'm wondering if it's caused by a remnant of debugging code that you added to investigate @fibreiv's recent problem.

 

Diagnostics: mandaue-diagnostics-20181120-0435.zip

 

Link to comment
7 hours ago, John_M said:

I've recently started seeing an error message appear in my syslog whenever I refresh the Main page of the GUI (I use non-tabbed mode so the UD section gets refreshed every time I select Main):


Nov 20 04:12:45 Mandaue unassigned.devices: Error: Cannot get IP address for 'DROBO5N' from nmblookup.

It's telling the truth because the DROBO5N file server is currently powered down:

 

2037554565_ScreenShot2018-11-20at04_17_17.png.41df2a5147313906a3c009f693d241ae.png

 

The fact that it's unavailable is nicely indicated by the grey ball so the entry in the syslog is unnecessary. I'm wondering if it's caused by a remnant of debugging code that you added to investigate @fibreiv's recent problem.

 

Diagnostics: mandaue-diagnostics-20181120-0435.zip

 

That log entry is so we can tell why the ping of the remote server did not work.  If your remote is mounted, it shouldn't show.  I'll take a look.

Link to comment
19 hours ago, John_M said:

They could in fact be different but so long that they are getting truncated somewhere.

You were right, the names that HP assigned were:

LOGICAL_VOLUME_5001438010F32760_3600508b1001c3ef5300bf0e49df986fa (sdb)
LOGICAL_VOLUME_5001438010F32760_3600508b1001c3d2b732d4816c14b3a1e (sdc)

Unfortunately it does not appear that it is something that can be changed

 

If it isn't possible to mount them both should there be any issue with me copying the items off the currently mounted unassigned device to the array, recreating the logical volume as a single volume and then copying the images back. Most specifically, I just want to make sure that shouldn't cause issues with my VMs

 

Thank you

Link to comment
34 minutes ago, elbobo said:

Unfortunately it does not appear that it is something that can be changed

Can you mount them manually? You can refer to them as /dev/sdb and /dev/sdc if it's just a temporary measure to copy off your data, or by their /dev/disk/by-id names, maybe in a little script, to save typing, if you want to mount them regularly. Just open a terminal session and use the mount command. You'll have to create their mount points manually first. Something like

# Create mount points and mount
mkdir /mnt/disks/HP1
mount /dev/sdb /mnt/disks/HP1
# Alternatively,
# mount /dev/disk/by-id/LOGICAL_VOLUME_5001438010F32760_3600508b1001c3ef5300bf0e49df986fa /mnt/disks/HP1
mkdir /mnt/disks/HP2
mount /dev/sdc /mnt/disks/HP2
# Alternatively,
# mount /dev/disk/by-id/LOGICAL_VOLUME_5001438010F32760_3600508b1001c3d2b732d4816c14b3a1e /mnt/disks/HP2

...

# Unmount and delete mount points
umount /mnt/disks/HP1
rmdir /mnt/disks/HP1
umount /mnt/disks/HP2
rmdir /mnt/disks/HP2

You might need to add a mount option or two.

 

Edited by John_M
typo
Link to comment
3 hours ago, John_M said:

Can you mount them manually? You can refer to them as /dev/sdb and /dev/sdc if it's just a temporary measure to copy off your data, or by their /dev/disk/by-id names, maybe in a little script, to save typing, if you want to mount them regularly. Just open a terminal session and use the mount command. You'll have to create their mount points manually first. Something like


mkdir /mnt/disks/HP1
mount /dev/sdb /mnt/disks/HP1
# Alternatively,
# mount /dev/disk/by-id/LOGICAL_VOLUME_5001438010F32760_3600508b1001c3ef5300bf0e49df986fa /mnt/disks/HP1
mkdir /mnt/disks/HP2
mount /dev/sdb /mnt/disks/HP2
# Alternatively,
# mount /dev/disk/by-id/LOGICAL_VOLUME_5001438010F32760_3600508b1001c3d2b732d4816c14b3a1e /mnt/disks/HP2

...

umount /mnt/disks/HP1
rmdir /mnt/disks/HP1
umount /mnt/disks/HP2
rmdir /mnt/disks/HP2

You might need to add a mount option or two.

I was able to let Unassigned-Devices mount the prior one by removing the partition on the newer one. I then created a share with a preference to cache (just for speed) and did:

cp -r /mnt/disks/* /mnt/cache/RecoverVMS/

one that was complete I connected to the HP server and recreated my 8 disc SSD array as a single RAID 5+0 mounted that as an unassigned device with the same mount point of the previous and then did a copy in the reverse direction 

I have restarted my VMs and they are functioning, I'll count that as a success.

 

Thank you for all of your help, in the end I decided to risk the data for the opportunity to consolidate the space into a single disc running with it's own redundancy. That way in the future the data is better protected. 

Link to comment

Hi all. I have problem with one SSD (of two, passed-through to Windows VM's). Where it shows always as mounted, and cannot be unmounted.

Nov 21 14:24:01 echidna unassigned.devices: Disk '' could not be unmounted...
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Disk with serial 'Crucial_CT500MX200SSD1_162212D41B36', mountpoint 'Wiederherstellung' is not mounted and cannot be unmounted...
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Disk with serial 'Crucial_CT500MX200SSD1_162212D41B36', mountpoint 'Crucial_CT500MX200SSD1_162212D41B36-part2' is not mounted and cannot be unmounted...
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Disk with serial 'Crucial_CT500MX200SSD1_162212D41B36', mountpoint 'Crucial_CT500MX200SSD1_162212D41B36-part3' is not mounted and cannot be unmounted...
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Device '' script file not found.  'REMOVE' script not executed.
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Unmounting disk ''...
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Unmounting ''...
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Unmount cmd: /bin/umount '' 2>&1
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Unmount of '' failed. Error message:  umount: : no mount point specified. 
Nov 21 14:38:04 echidna unassigned.devices: Since there aren't open files, will force unmount.
Nov 21 14:38:04 echidna unassigned.devices: Unmounting ''...
Nov 21 14:38:04 echidna unassigned.devices: Unmount cmd: /bin/umount -f -l '' 2>&1
Nov 21 14:38:04 echidna unassigned.devices: Unmount of '' failed. Error message:  umount: : no mount point specified. 
Nov 21 14:38:05 echidna unassigned.devices: Disk '' could not be unmounted...

How I can unmount it ?

2018-11-22 06_49_34-echidna_Main.jpg

Link to comment
6 hours ago, mucflyer said:

Hi all. I have problem with one SSD (of two, passed-through to Windows VM's). Where it shows always as mounted, and cannot be unmounted.


Nov 21 14:24:01 echidna unassigned.devices: Disk '' could not be unmounted...
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Disk with serial 'Crucial_CT500MX200SSD1_162212D41B36', mountpoint 'Wiederherstellung' is not mounted and cannot be unmounted...
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Disk with serial 'Crucial_CT500MX200SSD1_162212D41B36', mountpoint 'Crucial_CT500MX200SSD1_162212D41B36-part2' is not mounted and cannot be unmounted...
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Disk with serial 'Crucial_CT500MX200SSD1_162212D41B36', mountpoint 'Crucial_CT500MX200SSD1_162212D41B36-part3' is not mounted and cannot be unmounted...
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Device '' script file not found.  'REMOVE' script not executed.
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Unmounting disk ''...
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Unmounting ''...
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Unmount cmd: /bin/umount '' 2>&1
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Unmount of '' failed. Error message:  umount: : no mount point specified. 
Nov 21 14:38:04 echidna unassigned.devices: Since there aren't open files, will force unmount.
Nov 21 14:38:04 echidna unassigned.devices: Unmounting ''...
Nov 21 14:38:04 echidna unassigned.devices: Unmount cmd: /bin/umount -f -l '' 2>&1
Nov 21 14:38:04 echidna unassigned.devices: Unmount of '' failed. Error message:  umount: : no mount point specified. 
Nov 21 14:38:05 echidna unassigned.devices: Disk '' could not be unmounted...

How I can unmount it ?

2018-11-22 06_49_34-echidna_Main.jpg

A snippet of the log is not helpful.  Post your diagnostics.

Link to comment
18 hours ago, mucflyer said:

Hi all. I have problem with one SSD (of two, passed-through to Windows VM's). Where it shows always as mounted, and cannot be unmounted.


Nov 21 14:24:01 echidna unassigned.devices: Disk '' could not be unmounted...
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Disk with serial 'Crucial_CT500MX200SSD1_162212D41B36', mountpoint 'Wiederherstellung' is not mounted and cannot be unmounted...
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Disk with serial 'Crucial_CT500MX200SSD1_162212D41B36', mountpoint 'Crucial_CT500MX200SSD1_162212D41B36-part2' is not mounted and cannot be unmounted...
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Disk with serial 'Crucial_CT500MX200SSD1_162212D41B36', mountpoint 'Crucial_CT500MX200SSD1_162212D41B36-part3' is not mounted and cannot be unmounted...
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Device '' script file not found.  'REMOVE' script not executed.
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Unmounting disk ''...
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Unmounting ''...
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Unmount cmd: /bin/umount '' 2>&1
Nov 21 14:38:03 echidna unassigned.devices: Unmount of '' failed. Error message:  umount: : no mount point specified. 
Nov 21 14:38:04 echidna unassigned.devices: Since there aren't open files, will force unmount.
Nov 21 14:38:04 echidna unassigned.devices: Unmounting ''...
Nov 21 14:38:04 echidna unassigned.devices: Unmount cmd: /bin/umount -f -l '' 2>&1
Nov 21 14:38:04 echidna unassigned.devices: Unmount of '' failed. Error message:  umount: : no mount point specified. 
Nov 21 14:38:05 echidna unassigned.devices: Disk '' could not be unmounted...

How I can unmount it ?

2018-11-22 06_49_34-echidna_Main.jpg

The sdc disk is one of your cache disks, but the cache disk is not that disk.  It appears it is an old assignment in UD that is not for the correct disk.  I.e you had a disk in UD that was moved to a cache disk?  Or preclear is confusing UD.

 

Do this:

- Remove the preclear plugin in and see if that disk is removed from UD.

- Then, reboot the server and see if it clears up.

- Delete the /flash/config/plugins/unassined.devices/unassigned.devices.cfg file.  You'll have to re-do any UD settings.  Reboot the server.

 

Link to comment
11 hours ago, dlandon said:

The sdc disk is one of your cache disks, but the cache disk is not that disk.  It appears it is an old assignment in UD that is not for the correct disk.  I.e you had a disk in UD that was moved to a cache disk?  Or preclear is confusing UD.

 

Do this:

- Remove the preclear plugin in and see if that disk is removed from UD.

- Then, reboot the server and see if it clears up.

- Delete the /flash/config/plugins/unassined.devices/unassigned.devices.cfg file.  You'll have to re-do any UD settings.  Reboot the server.

 

I did all 3 steps, unfortunatelly situation is stil the same. SSD is mounted, and cannot be unmounted.

Attached diagnose file.

 

echidna-diagnostics-20181123-1310.zip

Link to comment
  • trurl pinned this topic

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.