200k Sync Errors Corrected Help

I've been using unraid for probably 15+ years if not longer. Never had a real problem. Mainly I let it do it's thing, meaning I don't know how to use it very well. Then last night a file I know was good was not playing correctly on VLC. So I hadn't done a parity check in almost a year.

Using 2 Parity Drives, 10 Disks, 40 TB, Unraid Pro Version 6.8.3

It's now 50% done and has more than 180,000 sync errors corrected. Should I be worried and if so what will he the consequences? And what should I do once the parity check is over?

Seems likely that you didn't actually have valid parity. No idea what you might have done in the past to get to that point.

2 hours ago, Cartierusm said:

maybe a bad or going bad HDD?

3 hours ago, ChatNoir said:

Your diagnostics might provide information ?

Sorry for being dim, I'm not a power user. I know very little about unraid. As I said over the last 15 years I've never had a problem.

So what should I expect when the parity check is over, rebuilt files or corrupt files? Or something new that we can't figure out because Stephen Hawking is among the stars now?

1 minute ago, Cartierusm said:

I'll figure out how to get diagnostics when the check is over. It has about an hour left.

No need to wait until then

If possible before rebooting and preferably with the array started
Go to Tools - Diagnostics and attach the complete Diagnostics ZIP file to your NEXT post in this thread.

21 minutes ago, Cartierusm said:

There is on Parity 1

Those are just CRC errors, they indicate a connection problem instead of a disk problem. You can acknowledge those by clicking on it in the Dashboard. It will warn you again if those increase.

I can see some connection issues for that disk in syslog back in January:

Jan 19 10:26:29 Tower kernel: ata6.00: ATA-9: WDC WD80EFAX-68KNBN0, VAKBJVVL, 81.00A81, max UDMA/133
Jan 19 18:06:38 Tower kernel: ata6.00: irq_stat 0x08000000, interface fatal error