Unraid turns 19

I graduated from college 40 years ago this month, with a degree focused on microprocessor technology.  Went to work for a company developing high resolution color graphics cards (640x480 and 1024x768 *were* high res when EGA was the best that was offered!).  Been in the microcomputer world most all of those 40 years.  Before Ethernet was a standard.  Before the Internet had a WWW.  Before there was a Google, or even a Yahoo.

Being in this world for 19 years and remaining relevant after all of that time is a major achievement, one not many can claim.  Congratulations!

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1
  • Upvote 3

My sincere congratulations, thanks for everyone's effort and hard work that has resulted in us being able to be a part of this great community and getting to enjoy the product we all love. 🙂 

• Like 5
3 hours ago, JorgeB said:

Found on Reddit, this is from Unraid 4, this was how it looked when I started using it in 2007, never saw Unraid 1-3.

image.png

That looks all too familiar. Apparently, I bought my first key in 2010 (email from Tom!) but I know I was using unraid before then, must have been v4 basic. Don't miss the install scripts to try and shoehorn more functionality into it, way before packages and the app store. It's come a long way. It was also not as well known at all. Very little talk outside specific locations, not anything like today. 

I remember Tom making a comment (and I hope this is right), speaking something along the lines that is is a niche product and won't ever become really popular as most users don't have the need for this much storage, this was when Lime-tech was a one man show. Amazing to see the exact opposite happen. 

• Like 1

Wow. We are getting older.
I started using it more than 15 years ago. I think I had 2-3 320GB disks in a case.
I then built the case I am still (!!!) using, although all the guts changed more than once.