New to unRAID

I'm very new to unRAID, and non-windows systems in general, I've been doing a lot of reading up on different media solutions for me. My main focus right now is that I want to setup a plex media server on a network server and not have to run it off my main tower like I've been doing for the past few months. I may look into diving into other new features, but for right now its just plex. unRAID seems to be the best option out there for me because I can start off small 3-4 3T drivers (which I have) and then expand as I need without essentially starting over.

I currently have 6.0 beta 14 downloaded and running, and I've been preclearing all of my drives over night to get ready for the setup. But it got me thinking if I should be starting out with a 5.x version until 6.0 comes out of beta. I just don't know the advantages / disadvantages to that since all of my movies will be stored on there once they are up and running. More so if once my server is up and running with 6.0 and I have to downgrade to 5.x for (up upgrade to newer version of beta / RC), will my drives with my files stay in tact.

I would start with version 6. It has been very stable and I suppose it is near its release (we never know though ^^) When you choose ReiserFS for you data drives file system I suppose you can move back and forth between version 6 and 5 BUT:

-You will loose your addon configuration if you do so

-You will miss out on all the nice features of version 6 such as virtualization/Docker which is great for plugins

-and newer filesystems. If I were you I would go with version 6 and setup my data drives using XFS Install a docker for your Plex and you are good to go ;)

If you didn't purchase a license for unRaid, then you're going to want to install v5 instead of 6.  Once v6 hits RC stage (soon I'm sure), then there are limitations on the amount of data you can store with the trial version.  But, the "basic" version of v6 is only $29.