Errr, what's up doc?

Morning all,

I am back, and I have a slice of humble pie on my desk in front of me! I was wrong, Docker is the future. Would you believe it if I said I'm now a DevOps Engineer for a living after my post last year stating how I thought Docker wasn't so great? Times change.

Why am I back? Well, a few reasons. I've been experimenting with Ubuntu as my server OS (not my beloved Arch) and it's been going quite well to be honest except for one key area; drive pooling. Drive pooling has turned out to be a massive pain in the arse and I've utilised MHDDFS and AUFS, each with it's own idiosyncrasies and instabilities. Therefore, in search of a set it and forget it I'm coming back to my old friend unRAID. I'll buy a big SSD for my cache drive to offset the write performance differential and all will be fine!

Onto my thrust for this thread. After being 'out of the game' for a year or so around these parts, what's new? I've had a good look at some of the hero features but it'd be great to see what you guys actually think are the best parts of v6 so far. What are the best bits? What are the worst bits? Any gotchas?

I'll be building a brand new server from scratch by the end of the month using Docker for my plugins and no virtualisation (so you could perhaps leave KVM / Xen updates out if you liked).

Anyway, nice to be back. Cheers!

Welcome back!

...Onto my thrust for this thread. After being 'out of the game' for a year or so around these parts, what's new? I've had a good look at some of the hero features but it'd be great to see what you guys actually think are the best parts of v6 so far. What are the best bits? What are the worst bits? Any gotchas?

I'll be building a brand new server from scratch by the end of the month using Docker for my plugins and no virtualisation (so you could perhaps leave KVM / Xen updates out if you liked).

Anyway, nice to be back. Cheers!