Looking for Docker Minecraft server

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I got that part ok. How do players see my server online on the web?

I am no expert, but I assume it is a matter of forwarding the proper Ports from the outside to the appropriate server. Your router would need to forward whatever port Minecraft is using to the IP of your unRaid server. This does open your Minecraft server to the open, so I would look at whitelisting the playerlist.

Do you mean outside your local network? Not recommended. You could set up a VPN but anyone you gave access to it would have access to your whole network.

Hi Trurl,

I have various ports open in my router pointing to my Sab, SB, CP... passworded. Should I be worried? I have done this for years...

Gragorg:

For minecraft, you need to open the port (cant remember the number - 25565?) and point it to the IP of your server. The admin is on another port set in docker, and you do not need to forward that one. You can Google how to open ports for your make and model of router.

• 2 weeks later...

Do you mean outside your local network? Not recommended. You could set up a VPN but anyone you gave access to it would have access to your whole network.

Hi Trurl,

I have various ports open in my router pointing to my Sab, SB, CP... passworded. Should I be worried? I have done this for years...

Gragorg:

For minecraft, you need to open the port (cant remember the number - 25565?) and point it to the IP of your server. The admin is on another port set in docker, and you do not need to forward that one. You can Google how to open ports for your make and model of router.

This is why I setup my reverse proxy.  Everything comes in on port 443 and has an SSL cert.  Only one port open and secured.

Anything with the word proxy, and my mind turns blank. I have zero experience with this... I could learn... uphill battle... one question though.