Jump to content
spants

[SUPPORT] pihole for unRaid - Spants repo

635 posts in this topic Last Reply

Recommended Posts

Could it be the two network cards? I have two installed but only one is enabled.

Share this post


Link to post

ok - you have eth0 connected and not eth1.

Why are they bonded without cables in both?

 

My config is attached

lt.png.fd83c12d8e6f1c0c7c716a5615fe5cc0.png

Share this post


Link to post

I've disabled the bonding, so now it looks like:

 

5O01aSqe+

 

I also removed the docker and installed again, getting always the same error:

 

5PRD0yj0+

Share this post


Link to post

I just executed

lsof -Pni | grep 53

 

and I'm getting

 

dnsmasq   24141   nobody    5u  IPv4  61741      0t0  UDP 192.168.122.1:53 
dnsmasq   24141   nobody    6u  IPv4  61742      0t0  TCP 192.168.122.1:53 (LISTEN)

 

WEIRD! That's not even my local IP address, it might be related to my ISP router. Will check it out!. Thanks for all your help :)

Share this post


Link to post

if the address is in use, it must be on your server? weird!

 

Also, see werfsd's posts earlier in the thread....

Share this post


Link to post

192.168.122.x is the default virbr0 address.

Is that related to virtual machines? Because I don't have any running when executing pihole!

Share this post


Link to post

How to prevent dnsmasq from starting ?

 

How to access /etc/pihole/adlists.default ? or create link ?

 

Thx for the docker :)

 

(no english sorry)

Share this post


Link to post

How to prevent dnsmasq from starting ?

 

How to access /etc/pihole/adlists.default ? or create link ?

 

Thx for the docker :)

 

(no english sorry)

 

Hi - sorry I dont know about stopping dnsmasq as it isnt starting on my system. I think there is a plexconnect docker which lason acts as a dns server and this caused problems for one user. I dont have access to /etc/pihole/adlists.default as my template is only fronting the docker built by diginc. You may want to clone his dockerfile if you want access to other files..

 

Share this post


Link to post

I do not know enough docker to do that ^^

 

I'm not plex, I have emby, synthing, rutorrent only and VM's, I do not yet find the cause

Share this post


Link to post

i run the same problem with port 53 already in use.

after some search, i found that the virtIO uses dnsmasq with port 53

i m not using any VM at the moment, so i decided to disable the VM Manager.

After this i was able to install the pihole docker successfull.

Dont know if i have trouble in the future when i use some kind of a VM

Share this post


Link to post

i run the same problem with port 53 already in use.

after some search, i found that the virtIO uses dnsmasq with port 53

i m not using any VM at the moment, so i decided to disable the VM Manager.

After this i was able to install the pihole docker successfull.

Dont know if i have trouble in the future when i use some kind of a VM

Yep, same here! but even if I can now access the web UI it still not working, if I use my unRAID ip as DNS server websites won't work

 

Here's how the admin UI looks (note the loader on queries over time)

1lKF0wQo+

 

Logs

 

WARNING: Tini has been relocated to /sbin/tini.

Please update your scripts to use /sbin/tini going forward.
/usr/bin/tini has been preserved for backwards compatibility in Alpine 3.4,
but WILL BE REMOVED in Alpine 3.5.

Added ENV to php:
[www]
env[PATH] = /usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin
env[php_ERROR_LOG] = /var/log/nginx/error.log

env[serverIP] = 10.0.1.2
env[VIRTUAL_HOST] = 10.0.1.2
Using default DNS servers: 8.8.8.8 & 8.8.4.4
Using IPv4
dnsmasq: syntax check OK.
[04-Dec-2016 09:24:54] NOTICE: configuration file /etc/php5/php-fpm.conf test is successful

nginx: the configuration file /etc/nginx/nginx.conf syntax is ok
nginx: configuration file /etc/nginx/nginx.conf test is successful
::: Testing DNSmasq config: ::: Testing PHP-FPM config: ::: Testing NGINX config: ::: All config checks passed, starting ...
:::
::: Neutrino emissions detected...
:::
::: No custom adlist file detected, reading from default file... done!
:::
::: Getting raw.githubusercontent.com list... List updated, transport successful!
::: Getting mirror1.malwaredomains.com list... No changes detected, transport skipped!
::: Getting sysctl.org list... No changes detected, transport skipped!
::: Getting zeustracker.abuse.ch list... No changes detected, transport skipped!
::: Getting s3.amazonaws.com list... No changes detected, transport skipped!
::: Getting s3.amazonaws.com list... No changes detected, transport skipped!
::: Getting hosts-file.net list... No changes detected, transport skipped!
::: Getting raw.githubusercontent.com list... List updated, transport successful!
:::
::: Aggregating list of domains... done!
::: Formatting list of domains to remove comments.... done!
::: 127935 domains being pulled in by gravity...
::: Removing duplicate domains.... done!
::: 103819 unique domains trapped in the event horizon.
:::
::: Adding adlist sources to the whitelist... done!
::: Whitelisting 6 domains... done!
::: BlackListing 0 domains... done!
::: Formatting domains into a HOSTS file...
:::
::: Cleaning up un-needed files... done!
:::
::: Refresh lists in dnsmasq...
::: Pi-hole blocking is Enabled
==> /var/log/nginx/access.log <==
10.0.1.14 - - [04/Dec/2016:09:22:54 +0000] "GET /admin/api.php?summary HTTP/1.1" 200 123 "http://10.0.1.2/admin/index.php" "Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_12_1) AppleWebKit/602.2.14 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/10.0.1 Safari/602.2.14"

10.0.1.14 - - [04/Dec/2016:09:23:04 +0000] "GET /admin/api.php?summary HTTP/1.1" 200 123 "http://10.0.1.2/admin/index.php" "Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_12_1) AppleWebKit/602.2.14 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/10.0.1 Safari/602.2.14"

10.0.1.14 - - [04/Dec/2016:09:23:15 +0000] "GET /admin/api.php?summary HTTP/1.1" 200 123 "http://10.0.1.2/admin/index.php" "Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_12_1) AppleWebKit/602.2.14 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/10.0.1 Safari/602.2.14"

10.0.1.14 - - [04/Dec/2016:09:23:27 +0000] "GET /admin/api.php?summary HTTP/1.1" 200 123 "http://10.0.1.2/admin/index.php" "Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_12_1) AppleWebKit/602.2.14 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/10.0.1 Safari/602.2.14"

10.0.1.14 - - [04/Dec/2016:09:23:50 +0000] "GET /admin/api.php?summary HTTP/1.1" 200 123 "http://10.0.1.2/admin/index.php" "Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_12_1) AppleWebKit/602.2.14 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/10.0.1 Safari/602.2.14"

10.0.1.14 - - [04/Dec/2016:09:24:01 +0000] "GET /admin/api.php?summary HTTP/1.1" 200 123 "http://10.0.1.2/admin/index.php" "Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_12_1) AppleWebKit/602.2.14 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/10.0.1 Safari/602.2.14"

10.0.1.14 - - [04/Dec/2016:09:24:12 +0000] "GET /admin/api.php?summary HTTP/1.1" 200 123 "http://10.0.1.2/admin/index.php" "Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_12_1) AppleWebKit/602.2.14 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/10.0.1 Safari/602.2.14"

10.0.1.14 - - [04/Dec/2016:09:24:22 +0000] "GET /admin/api.php?summary HTTP/1.1" 200 123 "http://10.0.1.2/admin/index.php" "Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_12_1) AppleWebKit/602.2.14 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/10.0.1 Safari/602.2.14"

10.0.1.14 - - [04/Dec/2016:09:24:35 +0000] "GET /admin/api.php?summary HTTP/1.1" 200 123 "http://10.0.1.2/admin/index.php" "Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_12_1) AppleWebKit/602.2.14 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/10.0.1 Safari/602.2.14"

10.0.1.14 - - [04/Dec/2016:09:24:45 +0000] "GET /admin/api.php?summary HTTP/1.1" 200 123 "http://10.0.1.2/admin/index.php" "Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_12_1) AppleWebKit/602.2.14 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/10.0.1 Safari/602.2.14"


==> /var/log/nginx/error.log <==

2016/12/04 09:20:34 [error] 324#324: *4 FastCGI sent in stderr: "PHP message: PHP Warning: max(): Array must contain at least one element in /var/www/html/admin/data.php on line 256

PHP message: PHP Warning: min(): Array must contain at least one element in /var/www/html/admin/data.php on line 257

PHP message: PHP Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 30 seconds exceeded in /var/www/html/admin/data.php on line 263" while reading response header from upstream, client: 10.0.1.14, server: , request: "GET /admin/api.php?overTimeData HTTP/1.1", upstream: "fastcgi://127.0.0.1:9000", host: "10.0.1.2", referrer: "http://10.0.1.2/admin/"

2016/12/04 09:21:00 [error] 324#324: *1 FastCGI sent in stderr: "PHP message: PHP Notice: Undefined index: l in /var/www/html/admin/list.php on line 5" while reading upstream, client: 10.0.1.14, server: , request: "GET /admin/list.php?disable HTTP/1.1", upstream: "fastcgi://127.0.0.1:9000", host: "10.0.1.2", referrer: "http://10.0.1.2/admin/list.php?l=black"

2016/12/04 09:21:01 [error] 324#324: *1 FastCGI sent in stderr: "PHP message: PHP Notice: Undefined index: l in /var/www/html/admin/list.php on line 5" while reading upstream, client: 10.0.1.14, server: , request: "GET /admin/list.php?enable HTTP/1.1", upstream: "fastcgi://127.0.0.1:9000", host: "10.0.1.2", referrer: "http://10.0.1.2/admin/list.php?l=black"

2016/12/04 09:21:34 [error] 324#324: *28 FastCGI sent in stderr: "PHP message: PHP Warning: max(): Array must contain at least one element in /var/www/html/admin/data.php on line 256

PHP message: PHP Warning: min(): Array must contain at least one element in /var/www/html/admin/data.php on line 257

PHP message: PHP Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 30 seconds exceeded in /var/www/html/admin/data.php on line 259" while reading response header from upstream, client: 10.0.1.14, server: , request: "GET /admin/api.php?overTimeData HTTP/1.1", upstream: "fastcgi://127.0.0.1:9000", host: "10.0.1.2", referrer: "http://10.0.1.2/admin/index.php"


==> /var/log/pihole.log <==
Dec 4 09:21:01 dnsmasq[481]: compile time options: IPv6 GNU-getopt no-DBus no-i18n no-IDN DHCP DHCPv6 no-Lua TFTP no-conntrack ipset auth no-DNSSEC loop-detect inotify
Dec 4 09:21:01 dnsmasq[481]: using nameserver 8.8.4.4#53
Dec 4 09:21:01 dnsmasq[481]: using nameserver 8.8.8.8#53
Dec 4 09:21:01 dnsmasq[481]: read /etc/hosts - 7 addresses
Dec 4 09:21:01 dnsmasq[481]: read /etc/pihole/gravity.list - 103819 addresses
Dec 4 09:24:59 dnsmasq[184]: started, version 2.76 cachesize 10000

Dec 4 09:24:59 dnsmasq[184]: compile time options: IPv6 GNU-getopt no-DBus no-i18n no-IDN DHCP DHCPv6 no-Lua TFTP no-conntrack ipset auth no-DNSSEC loop-detect inotify
Dec 4 09:24:59 dnsmasq[184]: using nameserver 8.8.4.4#53
Dec 4 09:24:59 dnsmasq[184]: using nameserver 8.8.8.8#53
Dec 4 09:24:59 dnsmasq[184]: read /etc/hosts - 7 addresses
Dec 4 09:25:00 dnsmasq[184]: read /etc/pihole/gravity.list - 103819 addresses

Share this post


Link to post

did you definitely do this :

 

2) in your appdata/pihole directory, it will have created 3 directories. Delete these directories and create 3 files (of the same name):

touch blacklist.txt whitelist.txt pihole.log


If you don't do this, it will not start.

 

Tony

Share this post


Link to post

did you definitely do this :

 

2) in your appdata/pihole directory, it will have created 3 directories. Delete these directories and create 3 files (of the same name):

touch blacklist.txt whitelist.txt pihole.log


If you don't do this, it will not start.

 

Tony

 

I did it for sure, actually the docker is starting up just fine!

Share this post


Link to post

so there are no directories in the appdata folder for pihole, just files?

yep! this is how it looks

 

3TtYWVUF+

Share this post


Link to post

I don't know what to suggest then... sorry! :(

 

:( thanks a lot anyway! I will have it running in the raspberry until I find what's going on then!

Share this post


Link to post

Just in case is of any help, I get the docker running, I can access the web UI but it seems it's not receiving the petitions from devices (query log absolutely empty)

Share this post


Link to post

Strange, and the dns of all the clients is pointing to your server?

 

No, I just tried it with my phone and my iMac but I get no websites loading and no queries on the docker either

Share this post


Link to post

Strange, and the dns of all the clients is pointing to your server?

 

No, I just tried it with my phone and my iMac but I get no websites loading and no queries on the docker either

 

So the network settings on the imac and phone all point the dns to Tower?. Anything in logs?

2016-12-12_14-51-32.png.b05b6f021a4e2d884578155640f4e367.png

Share this post


Link to post

Anyone got it to work with pipework?

I have management working, but dns does not seem to work.

 

EDIT: Nvm, I figured why and how :) Apparently when using pipework, it creates the adapter eth1 and not eth0.

I just created another .conf file with "interface=eth1" and problem was solved

Share this post


Link to post

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.